Life is a Montage

associations of disparate elements meld together to form my life

A Love Song to everyone for Valentine’s Day

on February 14, 2010

Edith Piaf sings “Hymne A L’Amour” (“If You Love Me, Really Love Me”)

I’m not sure which version I heard as a child, but it was an English version, so it was probably either Vera Lynn or Kay Starr. I loved it, and sang it around the house for months. The lyrics intensified my belief in true love, and the power of the music fit that intensity perfectly. It was some years later before I first heard Edith Piaf sing. I don’t remember how it came about, but it must have been a television show. All I knew was that I wanted to hear more. It is not only her voice, of course; it is the truth and emotion she brings to her singing that grabs us, and that voice… Even her English versions are fantastic, but she should be listened to in French.

English lyrics for folks like me who never learned French —

If the sun should tumble from the sky
If the sea should suddenly run dry
If you love me, really love me
Let it happen, I won’t care
If it seems that everything is lost
I should smile and never count the cost
If you love me, really love me
Let it happen, darling, I won t care

Shall I catch a shooting star?
Shall I bring it where you are?
If you want me to, I will
You can set me any task
I’ll do anything you ask
If you’ll only love me still

When at last our life on earth is through
I shall share eternity with you
If you love me, really love me
Then whatever happens, I won’t care

Then whatever happens, I won’t care

Leave a Reply

